Cataratas do Iguaçu – Iguazu Waterfalls – Brazil-waterfalls brazil

Photo taken on begin of June 2008. Right on the border Brazil – Argentine
Cataratas do Iguaçu (Portuguese) and in Spanish, Cataratas del Iguazú [iɣwa’su]) are waterfalls of the Iguaçu River located on the border of these two countries.
The waterfall system consists of 275 waterfalls, with heights of up to 70 meters, along 2.7 kilometres of the Iguassu River. The Garganta do diabo (devil´s throat) has 150 meters wide and 700 meters long cliff, is the most impressive of them all, and marks the border between Argentina and Brazil. Most of the falls are within Argentine territory, but from the Brazilian side (600 meters) a more panoramic view of the Garganta del Diablo is obtained. Hard to describe the feeling when we see all that water falling. What a sound!

The Falls are shared by the Iguazú National Park (Argentina) and Iguaçu National Park (Brazil). These parks were designated UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1984.

One Response to “Cataratas do Iguaçu – Iguazu Waterfalls – Brazil-waterfalls brazil”

  1. alagodina says:


Leave a Reply to alagodina

Wordpress SEO Plugin by SEOPressor
  • Facebook
%d bloggers like this: